Student Performing Arts

Rose-Hulman students enjoy a variety of performing arts opportunities. Our drama club, chorus, string ensemble, and bands perform several productions and concerts each year.  These events are open to the public, and we encourage the community to join us for our student productions.

Little-Shop-of-Horrors-
Little Shop of Horrors

Friday, 10.28.2016   Saturday, 10.29.2016   Sunday, 10.30.2016   Friday, 11.04.2016   Saturday, 11.05.2016  

Who doesn’t love a good story about a man-eating plant? Little Shop of Horrors is a dark musical comedy set in a 1960s flower shop where the hapless Seymour has unknowingly acquired a flesh-eating flower that will soon begin its quest for world domination.

The Servant of Two Masters

Friday, 01.27.2017   Saturday, 01.28.2017   Sunday, 01.29.2017   Friday, 02.03.2017   Saturday, 02.04.2017  

Set in modern day Venice Beach, the story begins with Beatrice, a woman who has disguised herself as her dead brother in order to collect her dowry, and her quirky, gluttonous servant Truffaldina. Carlo Goldoni’s 18th century comedy twists and turns through comedic misunderstandings before coming to a satisfying conclusion.

Engineers in Concert
Rose Chorus

Sunday, 03.12.2017  

Join us at the White Chapel for this special presentation by the Rose Chorus, Canticles of Peace – Songs of Peace in Our World.  Anthems will include the very familiar setting of “Let There Be Peace on Earth” by Sy Miller and Jill Jackson, as well as two settings of “Dona Nobis Pacem” by Sally Albrecht and Sherri Porterfield.  Other selections include “Glorious Peace” a spiritual by John Parker and Patti Drennan, “A Peaceful Kyrie” by John Purifoy and “One >

Engineers in Concert
Engineers in Concert

Thursday, 03.16.2017  

A breadth of student, faculty and staff talent will be on display at the 37th annual Engineers in Concert on March 16 at 7:30 p.m. in the Hatfield Hall Theater. This year’s show features dance routines; guitar, marimba and trombone pieces; vocal solos; a new jazz arrangement by Jazz Band director Norm Hanson; and even a Bollywood parody. Several student groups also will perform, including Rose-Hulman’s orchestra, jazz combo, jazz band and dance ensemble. Steve Newman, director of the Rose >

Rose Jazz Ensemble Concert
Rose-Hulman Concert Band and Jazz Ensemble Concert

Sunday, 03.19.2017  

The Concert Band will open their portion of the program with a concert standard, the First Suite in E-flat by Gustav Holst, which will highlight many fine soloists. This will be followed by Fantasia on an Alleluia Hymn which will use Rose-Hulman’s beautiful organ, played by Steve Newman, our Rose Choir director. For a popular piece, we will be performing Selections from Phantom of the Opera. Next will be the Tuba Tiger Rag, featuring members of our tuba section, and >

anything-goes
Anything Goes

Friday, 04.21.2017   Saturday, 04.22.2017   Sunday, 04.23.2017   Friday, 04.28.2017   Saturday, 04.29.2017  

Set sail on the original love boat, the S.S. American, when Rose Drama club brings the music of Cole Porter to the stage in Anything Goes. The classic story features mistaken identities, star-crossed lovers, and finger-snapping tunes. Don’t miss this tale of shenanigans on the high seas.

Rose Symphony Orchestra
Rose Symphony Orchestra Concert

Tuesday, 05.16.2017  

The Rose-Hulman Symphony Orchestra will play Romeo And Juliet by Tchaikovsky, Mars and Jupiter from The Planets by Gustav Holst, and Symphony No. 9 From The New World by Antonin Dvorak.